Popular social media platform Instagram has introduced a brand new feature that is designed to help with countering the presence of both trolls and cyberbullies.
The feature is known as “Restrict,” and it enables users to limit the overall exposure of others whenever comments that are deemed to be bullying or trolling are made on their posts.
Instagram explained the feature in the following post:
“You can restrict someone by swiping left on a comment, through the Privacy tab in Settings, or directly on the profile of the account you intend to restrict. One Restrict is enabled, comments on your posts from a person you have restricted will only be visible to that person. You can choose to view their comment by tapping ‘See Comment;’ approve the comment so everyone can see it; delete it; or ignore it. You won’t receive any notifications for comments from a restricted account.”
In essence, you will be able to silence anyone who comments on your Instagram posts whenever you wish to do so and without them knowing about it. The restricted user will then continue to think that what they post on your posts will be seen by you and your followers, even though they won’t be. This is being seen as a wonderful option for those who may be having issues with specific users, especially in terms of trolling and cyberbullying and when blocking these types of users doesn’t seem to solve the issues.
While similar to the “Hide Comment” option that is implemented on Facebook (which allows a user to simply get rid of unwanted comments and only allows the comment to be seen by the original poster and their friends), the “Restrict” option on Instagram further enables a user to keep track of comments that a problem individual posts, meaning that if someone ends up going much too far, they affected individual can report the offender at a later stage.